The Six Types of Asbestos

Mar 19, 2020 | Asbestos, Toxic Exposure

Most people have heard of asbestos, but don’t know that there are actually six different types of this dangerous mineral. Asbestos was used in its various forms for millions of construction projects prior to 1980, when its use was banned because it was found to cause deadly conditions. Exposure to any of the six types of asbestos can be dangerous and may lead to asbestos-related diseases or cancers. However, some types of asbestos were more commonly used than others, making exposure to them more likely.​ The six different types of asbestos have very similar effects for those people who are exposed to them.However, they are distinguishable by sight and texture. The six different types of asbestos include:

Anthophyllite – rarest form, less durable, and less used than other forms
Crocidolite – blue in color, very sharp, very fine fibers, and easy to inhale
Actinolite – often white or green in color, with typically long, thin fibers
Chrysotile – curled fibers that make them harder to inhale
Tremolite – color ranges from white to a deep green
Amosite – gray or brown in color and often straight

All six types of asbestos are very dangerous if their fibers are broken and inhaled and can cause serious conditions, such as asbestosis, lung scarring, and mesothelioma. However, if a person was wrongfully exposed to asbestos, financial compensation might be available to them.

Contact Us
If you or someone you love has been exposed to one of the six types of asbestos, you might be eligible for compensation. Contact an experienced asbestos attorney of Williams Hart today to learn more.



Think You Might Have a Case?

Fill out a form explaining your situation and our legal team will review your potential case.

100% FREE case evaluation.

Award winning trial lawyers.

Decades of experience.